Any strategy profitable in bearish markets ?
Hello,

I am playing around with the different strategies that have been shared here plus my own ones.. they are usually producing great results on bullish historical data, or even when bullish / bearish alternate, but what about purely bearish ?

Like I entered on the market on EUR/ETH a 2-3 weeks ago (don't ask me why) and now is only going down..

Gekko is offering "long" advice (buy all) and the possibility to "close" it (sell all): but even if that last advice is called "short", it is not a short..

I am still new to trading, but wouldn't be a "real" short - ie selling before buying in the hope to buy it cheaper afterwards - the only possibility to make profit on bearish market ?

Do you have any other strategy that would do it or all are about buying low / selling higher ?

Thanks!
Shorting is supported on some exchanges (eg. Kraken) but it's not supported in Gekko (AFAIK)

Even in a bear market there will be plenty of opportunities to buy low and sell high, at time frames of a few hours to perhaps a few days.
Try BBRSI from Github. Its most stable strategy which I know.
(03-17-2018, 11:00 AM)xFFFFF Wrote: Try BBRSI from Github. Its most stable strategy which I know.

Thanks xFFFFF for your resources.

I installed BBRSI, however, I am getting an error. Do you know what the below may refer to?

// ================

2018-04-06 15:03:50 (INFO): Using the strategy: BBRSI
/home/henry/gekko/strategies/indicators/BB.js:30
    this.sumsq += this.diffs[this.age] ** 2  - diffsTail ** 2;
                                        ^

SyntaxError: Unexpected token *
    at createScript (vm.js:56:10)
    at Object.runInThisContext (vm.js:97:10)
    at Module._compile (module.js:542:28)
    at Object.Module._extensions..js (module.js:579:10)
    at Module.load (module.js:487:32)
    at tryModuleLoad (module.js:446:12)
    at Function.Module._load (module.js:438:3)
    at Module.require (module.js:497:17)