Gekko Forum
[TUT] Backtesting with gekkoga - Printable Version

+- Gekko Forum (https://forum.gekko.wizb.it)
+-- Forum: Gekko (https://forum.gekko.wizb.it/forum-13.html)
+--- Forum: Guides (https://forum.gekko.wizb.it/forum-22.html)
+--- Thread: [TUT] Backtesting with gekkoga (/thread-1535.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6

[TUT] Backtesting with gekkoga - Gryphon - 02-22-2018

After posting a few results from gekkoga, I've received quite a few questions from people struggling to get it working - I thought I'd answer them all at once here!

I have no affiliation with gekkoga at all - it has been created by http://gekkowarez.com, and is hosted on github here - all credit goes to them! I'm also not an expert by any means, but I have managed to get it working!

Update
Just a small disclaimer here - Gekkoga looks for the best possible parameters for a given set of data. This results in the parameters being heavily over fitted to that data. A hugely profit optimised strategy in backtest will likely give a crap strategy when run live, as the market doesn't repeat itself! The results from gekkoga can give a good indication of the approximate parameters to use, but that's about it. Use common sense and don't get bought by 10,000% yearly profits in backtests!
Pay attention to the sharpe ratio, drawdowns and % profitable trades etc on each strategy for judging how good it might actually be live. Smile

What is GekkoGA?
It applies a genetic algorithm to the parameters of a gekko trading strategy and uses the gekko backtesting API to run it over and over to find the optimum settings. Each epoch, it takes the top parameters found in the previous epoch and adjusts a few of the values, introduces some totally new random parameter sets, and runs them all against each other ad-infinitum. The global best result per strategy and pair is stored in the results folder.

There is no GUI, this is command line only.